Ita’s Bat Mitzvah

ita2There have been a lot of first times in my short career as a photographer but this right here had my mind blown. Not for one reason either, but stay tuned. Yes, I was hired to shoot my first ever Bat Mitzvah. A Bat Mitzvah is a religious initiation ceremony for a Jewish girl aged twelve years and one day, regarded as the age of religious maturity. I copied that right from Google by the way, I didn’t know the exact definition until I looked it up. That’s right, a very nice client hired me to capture the moments at her daughter’s Bat Mitzvah and I was flattered and shocked all at the same time. Not only did she book me for the event coverage, she also wanted the photo booth experience. I couldn’t wait to call a few of my colleagues to tell them the good news, loving the fact that i’m getting the experience working alongside other faiths and religious groups all for the sake of great moments captured. This is a big deal for an African American photographer, these types of events are normally not captured by someone like myself BUT I was chosen. Lol, Lisa was great to work with from the invoice on down to the contract. She was very detailed and asked plenty of questions which is good.

itaWhen she introduced me to Ita, I was saying to myself “there’s no way this girl is 12 years old, she’s so tiny”. Lisa told me that Ita gets that all the time, she can pass for a nine year old. Such an adorable young lady though, her smile can light up an entire stadium. She was just too cute….!! I loved watching the ceremonial parts of the party, I learned so much that day. Talking with Ita’s father before the event was great too, he gave me some insight as to what the day would be like and that kept me at ease. I get a little nervous when I have no idea as to what’s going to happen and just that 5 minute conversation put me in a better place.

ita4Shout out to Kenny Watz for the assist on the photo booth man, you are a life saver my dude. Oh, and I forgot to mention how cool the entertainment was at Ita’s Bat Mitzvah. The entertainment was a cool group of young ladies, I believe 2 were DJ’s and the emcee who’s name was/ is Shimmy was so super cool. They kept the party live and with all the games and songs there was never a down/ dull moment. While Kenny & I were packing up all of the equipment Lisa wanted to thank me for the work we put in and asked me what my weekend looked like. I told her “it’s so funny you ask, I actually have a Bar Mitzvah on Saturday”. Lisa says, “See, Jewish people love you….!!”. I want to thank my client and her beautiful family for allowing me the opportunity to be a part of such a festive day. From all the people at John Flowers Photos Inc., we appreciate your business..

 

 

~ by mrflowersphotos on June 28, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
