The Groupon Effect OR NAH…?

Groupon-logoFour months ago I was sitting at my desk thinking of ways to market myself to other potential clients, I don’t think the fliers in the supermarkets are working and Facebook just ain’t it (I’ve mentioned that a billion times). Well, for me it’s not. I’m doing rather good with Thumbtack to be honest but I figured I still have a group of people I need to put these products and services in front of. That’s when I thought of Groupon, yes… I can have a discounted studio session that would help advertise my company and its other genres of photographer to total strangers which is the market I love to talk to. My thought process behind it was this; I have great images and who wouldn’t want 64% OFF..? Yep, a 30 minute studio portrait session with wardrobe changes and all at $122.00. Now, maybe it’s the 30 minute part that sounds a little weird but in studio photography time that’s actually an hour and a half session wise but only a half hour pressing the shutter button. Does that make sense…? Hair and make up takes crazy time as well as wardrobe changing but whatever, I think I did mention that hair and make up wasn’t included in the package. I would actually owe the potential customer money if I included that, lol…. Let me get back to where I was… Yeah, I thought that only $122.00 which originally is $339.00 at my studio I would be so busy that I wouldn’t have time for anything else but shooting these discounted offers. Nope, that didn’t happen… $217.00 in savings son….!!

I’m sure there are other vendors/ companies making a killing using Groupon to give people that full 70% off discount but I figured 64% off was more than enough because Groupon gets a percentage of that sale as well. Exactly??!!?? I mean, that’s fair because they are the vehicle driving the sale campaign/ ad for you/ me. Did I not get any buzz due to the 6% I was trying to pocket or does Groupon only really benefit the customer/ person trying to save mad money…? I don’t know, I was just trying something new and I thought my photography would speak for itself. Needless to say, it didn’t work for me and since the ad/ campaign went live on August 5th I have zero sales. Eff it, can’t say I didn’t try. Maybe Groupon not allowing me to use one of my own images Vs. their stock images on the ad page is the reason this campaign failed, maybe because I wanted to make at least $100.00 a shoot, maybe because not that many people need professional or half decent photography, maybe because I just don’t have the quality people were looking for, maybe 80% off would have gotten me a buzz, maybe I wasted my time…? In any case, i’m the best version of advertising myself and I’ll just continue to do what I do now to get the name and brand out there. I think it’s safe to contact Groupon at this time to have that ad removed or do I edit it…? I don’t know, I still like the idea of the platform having a commercial for me out there but the sacrifices are going to kill me. Looking at it from the outside, I have to honestly say that Groupon benefits the customer and not the vendor and I get it. I guess I just expected a tiny bit of inquiries. I don’t even think anyone viewed my campaign, lol. I need to see if that’s an option or do I even really care?

Here’s a link to that said ad campaign, forward it to your friends if you don’t mind. I don’t know, reply to this post entry and tell me where I went wrong and what I could have possibly done to have made at least one sale.

CLICK HERE —– > https://www.groupon.com/deals/john-flowers-photos-inc

Thanks for reading guys..

~ by mrflowersphotos on November 9, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
