Maternity Portrait Session / East Meadow LI (May 17th 2015)

PatsMatI got a Facebook inbox message from a former colleague of mine who had been seeing my work for a while. Her and her husband were and still are expecting their first child and I was flattered to have gotten the nod. We did the whole mood board thing while using images from Pinterest (like the one to the left) as a reference and it was cool. What was super cool about this session to me was that it was for a promotion I was doing for a $200.00 sitting fee (plus travel time, gas and toll(s). This session includes a 2 hour session or 3 looks, digital proofs/ web gallery, clients choice of 2 master edited images, and 11 x 14 print and the ability to purchase prints.

After collecting the images we’d reference from Pinterest I felt I still needed to have one or two original ideas or concepts for this shoot so while in route I was thinking and thinking and thinking and more thinking. I started to draw blanks and glanced at my phone every time I got stuck in traffic (WHICH IS ILLEGAL Y’ALL) noticing nothing that stood out when it came to maternity photos. I said to myself that I’d let the immediate surroundings outside and inside of their house be the final inspiration. After ringing the bell and being let in I noticed a small couch and a window that spoke to me, I logged that idea even before I met my clients husband and it became what I think was the star image of this session. I still have to let my client be the judge of that but never the less it was a super fun session and I thank my client and her husband for hiring me. People always ask me how do I get such good facial expressions and reactions from people I photograph.

dwayneandPatI always find posed for portraits to be boring and staged. I just ask them to be themselves and act like I’m not there. This may not work for some, but it did for me. I pulled out the Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 and asked them to just engage in conversation and I think it worked for the image of the 2 of them on the couch.

~ by mrflowersphotos on June 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
