Portrait Session With Maggie & Harris/ Staten Island NYC

MaggHarris_1 (2)A repeat offender can be a good thing, especially when they make for good portraits. I shot Maggie a couple years ago during a head shot campaign I was piecing together and it was spectactular. Fast forward to Saturday August 24th I have Maggie back in front of my lens this time it’s with a new camera, a new lens and her awesome boyfriend Harris. Wanted to shoot this couple being their natural selves so I thought about using a park that’s not too far from my house. The shoot took place at Clove Lake Park on Staten Island, wonderful weather but 20 mosquito bites later….. Daing, I’m still itching. Sorry guys, I promise I won’t shoot anyone near that mosquito ridden pond again and I’ll bring bug repellent as well. Overall it was a good fun shoot, had my new friend Angie helping me out with the reflector but I think I’ll play it safer next time and just use a Yongnuo 560 III Speedlight with a LumiQuest Softbox III to a mono pod. Pretty much what I think my idol Mr. David Hobby would use. I’m looking at some of the images now and I see slight shadows in some areas that I’m not too fond of but those can be fixed. Not that big of a deal, but a little more time in post production than I would have liked to been in.

I think we shot about 4-5 locations for potentially 6-7 great final images. Special thanks to Gabrielle who helped me out with make up, It was a pleasure working with you. I wanted to treat Maggie & Harris to Ralph’s Famous Italian Ice’s after the shoot but time didn’t allow me to.. Next time though….

~ by mrflowersphotos on August 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
