Out with the old, and hopefully in with the something better…

20130702_105116If i’ve learned anything doing photography it’s this, you can do a lot with a little. Meaning having 19 lenses doesn’t always work for everybody. Not that I have that many but I do currently own 5, and I have 2 that I never use or I just don’t use anymore. When I first started shooting I purchased a Sigma 18-200mm to go along with the Nikon 18-55mm that came with the camera. I then purchased a Nikon 50mm f1.8 that didn’t have a motor built into the lens so I couldn’t auto focus. The camera that I owned at the time was an entry level body and as lasy as I am, I want the camera to think for me so I had to sell that bad boy. I also owned a Tamron 70-300mm which was a total waste, I don’t know what the hell I was thinking so I sold that to some freak from Craigslist. I then wanted to move away from kit zooms so I got a Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 that I only used a couple times and I didn’t really care for it because the zoom barrel rotates the opposite way than the Nikon and Sigma’s I was used to. I then got my hands on a Sigma 17-50mm 2.8 that I love and won’t ever sell that, it’s my party lens. I used that at the nightclubs and the images are so cool. I also ended up getting a Nikon 50mm f1.4 that I won’t part with because that’s a lens every serious photographer should own. We call it the NIFTY FIFTY and if you have one you know how good and reliable that lens is. I wanted to go a little further with my career and invested in a Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 which is another lens that I love. I’ll never part with it, it was the right price at the right time and I got it. I say all that to say that this photography hobby/ career is very expensive and if you’re reading and have any interest in it please make sure you know what you’re buying into before you actually buy it. You’ll end up never using some of it or selling it and the returns on some things will never make up what you spent… I’m happy to say that I’m finally down to 3 lenses with the thoughts of owning just 2 more. I have my eyes on a Sigma 30mm f1.4 and a Tamron 24-70mm f2.8 while I’m trying to sell the last 2 lenses I don’t use.

I think I may have said/ typed just way too much in this blog entry. Even i’m confused at this point…

~ by mrflowersphotos on July 2, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
