Eff that, I’m Going Rogue…..

I found the header image for this post on google and thought it was dope. Sarah Palin is cute as hell but I feel so sorry for her husband Todd because her voice is so annoying…. Wait, didn’t he file for divorce or was that an internet rumor….?

Back to the matter at hand, the Rogue Flash Bender(s). Okay, learning how to light subjects in photography is tricky but fun all at the same time. There’s something about trial & error that turns me on. There’s so many ways and so many styles, I’m talking learning how to light by using light meters or just saying “_uck it, I’ll figure it out on my own”. Personally, I like the “_uck it, I’ll figure it out on my own” because I want to light my subjects the way I want to light them. Not the way another photographer thinks I should because every photographers eye is different.

I was a big fan of the Gary Fong Light Sphere diffuser up until recently when a photographer friend of mine showed me what he was using. I’m open, I like to try new things and I won’t front. I actually like the results a lot better with the Rogue Flashbender(s) than I did with the GF Light Sphere. Not saying the GF didn’t do the job but I felt I was limited and the collapsible version of the Light Sphere was so heavy mounted on top of my Nikon SB-600, the pivot flash head would drop to the left when I would set up to to shoot a portrait image of people at events. I feel more in control of the light with the Rogue Flash Bender(s). I don’t usually get this techie on this blog but I guess as I try and master this craft it’ll slowly become that. Who knows…?

The Rogue Flashbenders are so light, they work as a diffusion/ bounce system as well as gobos. I’m really digging them, the next few models I’ll be shooting will be shot with the help of the Flashbenders so keep reading the blog so you can see for yourself…

~ by mrflowersphotos on November 2, 2011.

2 Responses to “Eff that, I’m Going Rogue…..”

  1. 1 of 3 chiming in…..Clearly as simple as it is to comment on a post…to go through all these seemingly unnecessary steps to drop a line is my excuse for not chiming in sooner and to your earlier more amusing posts. Lol You lost me on all the technical talk. But i know you are percalating something cool. Comon with the come on! -sb oh and look at me in your banner 😀

    • Awwwhhh Sheena, you are too sweet. I’m glad I can amuse you with my weird posts… I’m just trying to have fun all the while entertain my loyal 3 subscribers, lol…. I love how you pointed that out, watch.. I’m going to blow up like Perez Hilton soon in the blog world..

Leave a Reply

 
